From Roger’s Garden

 

Basil & Tomato Salad

Roger’s vegetable garden on the south side of the house, just up the hill from the Beverly Design Center,  and down the hill from the Sunset Strip, had a grape vine, fresh tomatoes, Serrano chili pepper, red chili peppers, basil, rosemary and mint. Below the vegetables were rose bushes and day lily’s. It was private yet just feet from Santa Monica and The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf. On one of the many days I stayed there when he and his husband were in Fiji, Puerto Rico, Brazil or some other tropical destination, I would make dinner from the garden.

Ingredients:

4-6 Vine Ripe Tomatoes

Olive Oil

Sea Salt

Balsamic Vinegar

1/3 cup Fresh Basil chopped

Directions:

Chop the tomatoes into relatively small chunks.  Add the basil. Drizzle 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil over mixture and then sea salt to taste.  I also like black pepper although I sometimes added minced fresh pepper from the garden, even some mint.

Or for a Caprese Salad, slice them and layer with circle slices of soft mozzarella cheese and whole basil leaves. Drizzle with Balslmaic vinaigrette. Roger always had some really good expensive Balslmaic. Lucky Me.

Images from Google Images except for Roger.

16 thoughts on “From Roger’s Garden

  1. nonoymanga says:

    very nice still life shots!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

  2. ooooohhhhh yummy!!!!!!

  3. Yes yummy, fresh and healthy. I feel like I hit the lottery, thanks for commenting thrice.

  4. Joana Wersel says:

    Loving it, I made something out of it and here is what I cam up!

    1 1/2 cups kale, bite sized pieces
    1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
    1 chopped tomato
    1 snap peas(handfull one)
    3 Tbsp fresh basil grinded but not firmly
    2 fresh parley and chopped it
    Mixed it together and marinate for 20 mins then serve!

    I didn’t cook it at all and make it perfectly for side dishes, and to reserve the benefits I can get from those herbs like basil because I’ve read from an article at http://organicindia.mercola.com/tulsi-tea.aspx that those herbs a re goo if it is freshly consumed!

  5. aidaweb101 says:

    Yummy!Great post.
    Thanks very much for visiting my blog.
    Cheers!

  6. wordpressreport says:

    Reblogged this on WordPress Report.

  7. Thank you for the Reblog. My dearest departed friend loved his garden. So did the butterflies, dragon flies, birds and nature elementals.

  8. more here says:

    Hello! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was
    wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  9. Valentina says:

    My kind of food, yum!

  10. They are only good if homegrown. Farm grown doesn’t have the same flavor. Do you grow them?

Leave a Reply

