Nymph Finding the Head of Orpheus

John William Waterhouse

Waterhouse (1849-1917) was a British painter of classical, historical, and literary subjects. Waterhouse had an interest in themes associated with the Pre-Raphaelites, particularly tragic or powerful women. Despite increasing frailty during his final decade of life, he continued to paint until his death. In his latter years he painted a series of paintings based upon the Persephone legend. His final pictures were based upon literature and mythology.

 

I have seen some of these paintings before but never stopped to look closer. He has done some lovely work. A new to me artist in my favored class. Hats off to you Mr. Waterhouse wherever you are.

6 thoughts on “Nymph Finding the Head of Orpheus

  1. Oh my god I want to live in that picture!

  2. His painting are beautiful and graceful. Glad you liked in Jennifer.

  3. we love his work. thanks for sharing!!!

  4. Welcome odie and odie mama.

  5. Thank you for introducing him to me!

  6. My pleasure, it was new for me too.

Leave a Reply

