Need To Believe?

I am usually good with snappy titles but I do not really know what to call this post. I receive email newsletters from a couple of spiritual type gurus. Now, I do not mean to be demeaning or condescending as I think everyone has something to offer. At various times in my life I have participated  in this or that system, and I have gotten something from all of them. What makes me cynical however are blind follower’s. Anybody with guru or teacher worship, anybody that doesn’t continually question. What got me to thinking was a newsletter about pilgrimages to the Yucatan for December, 21, 2012.

This lovely woman/guru was telling everyone that she had been booked for a long time, but could recommend three other metaphysical journeys with other authors/guru/teachers. This whole Maya calender end date scenario has spurred a cottage industry. It must take great courage and strength to be an atheist, as it seems to me we as humans all NEED something to believe. Something in me finds that just pathetic. I am so sorry if this is insulting to anyone but I include myself. Why can’t we/I, just know there is a Source of Love and Creation/God, and know we are part of that Source, and that be enough? Is it we like to be a part of a social group, feel like we belong to something, feel like we have inside information (this has always been a favorite of mine, as I am a bit arrogant)? Whatever it is it makes me all the more cynical and sardonic.

I am a double Scorpio and my birthday is coming up in a couple weeks, so this may in part explain my cynicism. LOL

I am not questioning as in asking for answers from anyone, it was just a curious observation.

Edited to add: I would however invite your opinions and discussion. 🙂

21 thoughts on “Need To Believe?

  1. herkimerlove says:

    I agree totally. and completely understand the pre-birthday cynicism, I had that too this year.

    Two things… this just the end of a cycle, and a beginning of a new one. I’d rather celebrate the new one, than the old. Like with New Years Eve… I’m never celebrating the old year, I’m stoked about the new one.

    The other… I’ve read several sources now, that say that the actual living Mayan timekeepers put the end of the cycle at Feb 12/13 2013. I don’t know why it would’ve been moved up and this “wrong” date cast into the mass consciousness, yet there’s alot of things in our society that happen for the sake of distracting and controlling the masses that I don’t understand, beyond knowing the acts are a means of control/distraction.

    That’s my two cents for the day. Hope all is well with you on this lovely fall day. 🙂

    • Yes I agree. I just find it interesting how it has become an industry.

      • herkimerlove says:

        oh course its become an industry. anything that attracts a large amount of attention, some one will find a way to turn it an industry for the sake of profit. I mean they made “2012” (the movie) for crying out loud. (regardless that it was the biggest load of bs ever)

        Ascension, given its time to for the truth to be known to all, will be the biggest attention grabber of its time. Although, by its very nature, will dissolve the industry of making a profit, especially off of those needing something to believe, and the easily manipulatable. 🙂

  2. herkimerlove says:

    The time of the guru is long passed.

    The time of realization that that “something to believe in” is within is upon us.

    Rejoice. 🙂

    • I shall. Thank you so much for discussing it. I have missed talking to you. 🙂

      • herkimerlove says:

        Thank you for having something to say that sparked me to reply. Haven’t had much to say otherwise lately. Dealing with 3-D has been draining, and leaves me feeling alittle deflated more often than not. I do my best, to make the best out of it all though. 🙂

      • bluebutterfliesandme says:

        I feel you buddy. Keep smiling. having involved myself in creative activities like directing a play and learning webdesign, has saved me. It makes me feel alive, which I needed but school can be stressful with deadlines, which are also good too.I think many of us have financial pressures but maybe it is just an opportunity to create and manifest our fresh new now?

  3. herkimerlove says:

    Definitely working on the “fresh new now”. No real financial “pressures”, just severely limited as to taking things further, in this current moment that is. Who knows, as divine timing is an interesting thing, the next can be completely different.

    I LONG to be back in school, and pursuing some serious creative endeavors. Everything in its due time. Doing my best to be patient in the Now. 🙂

  4. Katie says:

    That day is my birthday and I do believe everyone should throw a party that day. On the cusp, Katie. 8)

  5. Yea Katie! well I look forward to throwing a Birthday Blog Party in your honor!

  6. Renard Moreau says:

    [ Smiles ] Sindy, it is your post and you can name it anything you want.

    Well, the rest, you will figure out!

    • Well I had to name it to post it. so that is moot. I would have like to hear more of your opinion on the post. 🙂

      • Renard Moreau says:

        [ Smiles ] There is no reason that people should blindly follow spiritual teachers and gurus.

        I agree that we all need something to believe in.

        Your post is a lovely one since it causes the reader to think deeply about the issues presented in your article.

      • bluebutterfliesandme says:

        Thanks Renard. You know I appreciate and respect any and all feedback from you. You made my morning. [Smiles]

  7. Hi Sindy! I am taking off for Australia today! (Early) Happy Birthday! My birthday was couple of weeks ago. I am a Libra. I will be checking your posts periodically while I am gone… à tout à l’heure! 😀 Fae.

    • bluebutterfliesandme says:

      Happy Birthday Fae! My departed best friend was a Libra and a world traveler like yourself. Bon Voage and safe journey or is that the same? lol

      i will miss you.

  8. petit4chocolatier says:

    Hi Sindy,
    Happy birthday- early! Most of my friends are Scorpio!! Must be something to it!

    • bluebutterfliesandme says:

      Bless your heart. What kind of karma is that? lol Most of mine were Leo but my best was a Libra. Like Cancer’s too.

    • bluebutterfliesandme says:

      Oh and thank you. I will celebrate my birthday here on October 30th with a cake made by Judy. lol lol lol

Leave a Reply

