Anscestors

Butterfly Dreamcatcher

As I was driving through the plains of Texas, New Mexico and Arizona,  I had images of the Native Americans and time gone by. I felt a connection to another dimension and time line, maybe it was faint but it was there. Possibly I was delusional. lol I don’t know how many of my Word Press friends and readers have been to the American South West?  It has an ancient, Palaeolithic  beauty, like the  Grand Canyon, and Sedona, I visited  Sedona five years ago with my departed best friend and his husband. I am looking forward to visiting again soon. I have not been to the Grand Canyon. Oh boy I am really looking forward to that.

I just looked up the various tribes from the area, there are 21 recognized American Indian tribes in Arizona today. My great grandmother was one half Cherokee, making me 1/16th.  Cherokee are really more the area I came from but I am certain that anyone in this natures majesty feels some ancestral connection to those peoples, no matter what country or ancestry you are from. I will be learning more as I explore the state.

Some of the People of the Sun

Apache

Hopi

Paiute

Navaho

O’odham

Zuni

Mohave

Maricopa

Yuma

19 thoughts on “Anscestors

  1. shreejacob says:

    They were keeping you company as you drove! 🙂

  2. Sindy,
    I have been to New Mexico once and was aware how it is so different from the east coast where I live. I loved how it seemed more natural and linked to the original native peoples, as I believe it was intended. I began to understand why it is called ” The Land of Enchantment .” I visited a couple reservations and met some lovely people. Enjoy your new home and embrace your heritage, perhaps in a new way.

    peace, Linda

  3. Hi Sindy! I particularly love this post of yours. I hope you peacefuly settle in your new place. ✿ Fae.

  4. I was referring to your Cherokee heritage.

  5. yogaleigh says:

    It’s been years but I vividly remember the feeling of stepping into another dimension each time I visited New Mexico

  6. Valentina says:

    I came from Italy one year just to tour the American South-West. Some areas were so mystical and magical. I still remember a sunset in the Rocky Mountain, the colors in the sky were vivid and hot. I saw many tribes and their art. The trip was so pleasant.

  7. petit4chocolatier says:

    Sindy, beautiful post. Angels helping you through! Hope all is well!

  8. David says:

    I am also 1/16th Cherokee! Maybe you lived in the Four Corners area in a past life?

  9. lots of energy to explore and entertain! hope the new place works great for you 🙂

  10. […] Feature Image […]

Leave a Reply

