Namaste

the_kiss~ Katherine Ace

Namaste is so much more than a word. In Los Angeles, I used to get so annoyed at the way neophytes tossed around words like karma and Namaste. Neophyte might be stretching it here. So for the longest time I avoided the word Namaste that is until I really deeply felt it. It reminds me of the scene in “Get me to the Greek,” when Aldous, played by Russell Brand, admonishes his ex-wife. She tells him his son is someone else’s child, among other hurtful things and ends it with “Namaste.” He tells her that isn’t really an appropriate usage of the word. Although comical it typically personifies what I mean.

Now I embrace Namaste and the fullness of its meaning.

The gesture Namaste represents the belief that there is a Divine spark within each of us that is located in the heart chakra. The gesture is an acknowledgment of the soul in one by the soul in another. Nama means bow, as means I, and te means you. Therefore, Namaste literally means “bow me you” or “I bow to you.”

To perform Namaste, we place the hands together at the heart charka, close the eyes, and bow the head. It can also be done by placing the hands together in front of the third eye, bowing the head, and then bringing the hands down to the heart. This is an especially deep form of respect. Although in the West the word “Namaste” is usually spoken in conjunction with the gesture, in India, it is understood that the gesture itself signifies Namaste, and therefore, it is unnecessary to say the word while bowing.

We bring the hands together at the heart chakra to increase the flow of Divine love. Bowing the head and closing the eyes helps the mind surrender to the Divine in the heart. One can do Namaste to oneself as a meditation technique to go deeper inside the heart chakra; when done with someone else, it is also a beautiful, albeit quick, meditation.

Aadil Palkhivala

 ✿ღ✿ღ.¸¸ღ♫*¨`*•..¸ƸӜƷ ✿ღ ✫❀

Painting, The Kiss

By Katherine Ace

It was really cemented in listening to my beloved Deepak Chopra meditations, and when Deepak said it, I returned it.

✿ღ✿ღ.¸¸ღ♫*¨`*•..¸ƸӜƷ ✿ღ ✫❀
Namaste

Sindy

22 thoughts on “Namaste

  1. OM said she learned Namaste from me. I told her that I cannot take credit for it 🙂 Lovely post, I appreciate the delicacy of this gesture.

    Namaste

  2. TamrahJo says:

    Interesting how many words and sayings can be used in ways that diminish their beauty – A few years back, I thought I would scream if I heard one more person say, “It’s All Good” when they actually were ticked off and not feeling good at all – – 😀
    Beautiful Post – I’m not so good at still meditations, but I can trance out in a moment just listening to Deepak’s voice –

    • Me too girl! I used to be part of a Gnostic group that required we sit still and not move, seeking Silence of the Mind, or else we had to stand for the remainder of the meditation time. I was not successful at obtaining silence but I could sit still. I would rebelliously wiggle my hidden toes under my meditation bench. lol I love my Deepak Chopra, my boyfriend even pretends jealousy of him. Haha..its cute.

  3. It was a naughty rebellious gesture. lol

  4. Jerry says:

    Or the God/Source/Universe recognizes the God/Source/Universe in you. 😉

  5. I know how you feel about awards ( still waiting on that post you promised me) yet I couldn’t resist: http://lindalitebeing.wordpress.com/2013/06/18/always-here-if-you-need-me-award/

  6. alohaleya says:

    amazing piece of art in this post. 🙂
    i know exactly what you mean about the overuse of ‘namaste’ and for a long time i avoided using it as, in my yoga-centered city, it seemed so watered-down! but i love its meaning and now when i do say/write it i make a conscious attempt to pause for a sec and honour the other’s inherent divinity, instead of it being an automatic substitute for ‘bye’. i use it on wordpress a lot because it’s just so cool to connect with kindred souls all over the planet.
    namaste, sindy. 🙂 aleya

  7. Adrea says:

    I love saying namaste at the end of a yoga practice – it really seals in the practice for me with the bow at the end and I always stay in the bow a beat or two longer than necessary to really make sure I feel it. 🙂

  8. Valentina says:

    I have a herd of friends using words such as Namaste just to show their pseudo-intellectualism, but I must say it just irritates me, as half of them don’t even know the meaning of the words they are using.

  9. shreejacob says:

    Thank you for sharing this Sindy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

