Freedom

tower_babel~ Katherine Ace

Tower of Babel painting by Katherine Ace

Freedom Train my  funky musical choice

or  classic choice Me and Bobby McGee

Well today I will talk a bit about freedom, real freedom and not just merely the illusion of freedom. When you think of freedom, what comes to mind? Maybe riding your bicycle down a hill on a summers day, with the wind against your skin, knowing you can get an ice cold soda at the destination, or maybe its a quiet walk in the woods, riding a motorcycle, running??? Whatever elicits the feeling of freedom, find that memory and feel, embody those sensations.

Real freedom for me comes from non-attachment. It was about 3 years ago when I decided to leave Los Angeles, my home of over 30 years and move away. I just got rid of stuff, having lived in the same apartment for 18 years, I had amassed a lot of stuff. I gave away my nice bed, my television, antique hand painted cabinet from India, clothes, art, rugs, furniture, almost everything. This feeling came over me that was new and different, it felt light, I had to sit and search my mind for a word to label the feeling. I called my friend and said, “ST, I feel free, this is what freedom feels like.” It was an adult freedom and not necessarily the same carefree childhood freedom as the bike on a summers day but a freedom of letting go of attachments to stuff, letting go of our attachment to a place, an identity, or even a location. The trick is to not create new attachments…Haha..Right! Not so easy. As an observation and an exercise in my spiritual evolution at least I know what to work toward.

Freedom from notions, feelings, possessions, concepts, paradigms et cetera, and so forth.

So today I wish you freedom.

Today I embody freedom.

Today I give gratitude for the freedom I enjoy!

Namaste~

Just wanted to link my friend Bella’s blog post today~ Declare Your Independence

*☆*
__/ ‘\__☆.• R℮ÅCℍ ℉Ớґ Ṱℏ℮ SṰ✫Åя$ •.☆
`’*☆*´ *☆* Δᾔℊ℮ḽ *☆*
/.•*•.\¸ ☆ Δᾔ Ḏ ☆ Ð R℮Δ Ḿ ☆
Sindy

One more Freedom tune.

23 thoughts on “Freedom

  1. great post! ” Freedom is another word for nothin’ left to lose…. ”

    Namaste

  2. alohaleya says:

    so grateful to be the chooser and creator of the many freedoms in my life – internal and external! thank you for this post…and the accompanying painting is striking! aleya

  3. Thank you Sindy! I wish us all freedom too. 😀

  4. shreejacob says:

    Absolutely love this! And yes..it’s the non attachment..which is such an easy concept..oh but so hard to do. I don’t know…for me it’s pretty easy when it comes to stuff…well except for some of my books! hehe. The real deal is when we can master the non attachments to the other “non tangible” things you mentioned in your post.

    Hope you have a great weekend Sindy!

  5. hi blue,
    really wanted your take on some things and tried to call you… but….
    it no work.
    you call me?

  6. Susan says:

    Timely piece for me. My mother died a week ago today of Alzheimers, and as her executor,caregiver and guardian of six years, I am now left with the task of purging two storage areas and a houseful of things within the next thirty days. It feels overwhelming, and not something that i was able to manage while she was alive. I am so looking forward to that feeling of spaciousness in my life where the sky is wide open blue. Like Gulliver, stuff does tie your life up and drain you of energy. It comes to own your life rather than you owning it. Here’s to our freedom!

    • Susie I am so, so sorry about your mother. 😦 Really I am. Dealing with clearing her stuff is not going to be easy for you either. The best you can do is allow it to be a cathartic experience. Reclaim your soul essence with every memory and then release the item. You know the good clearing rule of thumb? Three separate areas, Keep, Sale, Donate but that is just the physical clearing, work on that emotional clearing simultaneously~
      Also know that someone else will enjoy the items and they will have a new life.

      Again my heart goes out to you regarding your Mom’s passing. Hang in there Susie, all your goddess sisters are wrapping you in love.

      Namaste
      Sindy

      • Susan says:

        I really appreciate your heartfelt and compassionate words of wisdom, Sindy! I especially appreciate the “Reclaim your soul essence with every memory and then release the item” part, as I would not have thought about that, but it is exactly what I need to do as there are things that have been in the family for a long time and no place to put or keep them if I want to be able to walk through the house. The emotions come in waves when I least expect it, but my mother has been making her presence strongly known and has been speaking to me a lot. Her first admonition to me after thanking me for everything, was to take care of myself now. And next week, I have been invited to the coast for a few days. Think I will take her up on her advice!

        Namaste,Susie

      • Ah yes, yes Susie…Let the ocean waters wash away any old thoughts, wash away any unneeded pain. Let the gentle breeze sooth your soul and the light of the sun renew you. Great idea. 🙂

        Much love & Namaste
        Sindy

  7. Freeing… 🙂

    Michael

  8. I love this post, and today it probably feels so different to read those words. I have had times of letting go of lots of material items and it is a bit counter-intuitive how freeing it feels to get rid of them when they were obtained, sometimes, in pursuit of that same feeling.
    I’m sending love and support and I know that you have such strong connections to so many parts of your own psyche and the world around you, those things can be weightless and freeing sometimes as well as they let us have support and awareness of the big picture even as things are so intense and may feel small. Thank you for sharing this beautiful post!

    • I appreciate your kind words Jennifer, I really do. I also appreciate your love & support at this most trying time.
      ☆ ♥
      *`•.¸(¯`•♥•´¯)¸.•♥ ☆ ♥•
      ☆ º ` `•.¸.•☆ ´

Leave a Reply

