Hippy Beads~ cosmic retrograde challenge

385020_319850048048668_1522955084_n

 

Mood Music

I have to admit to a love of the bohemian. Born in 1957 I was a generation behind the true hippies, yet always a wannabe! This brings me to my hippy beads, in the jewelry box, always with me, a reminder of young tanned skin, a reminder of youth, wishes, and dreams.

Pondering on these beads, strands of tiny sparkly and multi-colored orbs, there are so many memories. In almost a reverent rosary, I touch them; run them through my fingers in contemplation. Memories of being a girl in high school and going to the lake, wearing my hippy beads and a hobbit tee shirt, or years’ later tanning by the pool any day of the week, as we never knew what day it was, wearing my hippy beads. Youth, ignorance, pot and hippy beads. Searching, desiring, surviving and hippy beads.

A common thread I have observed in Linda’s Cosmic Retrograde Challenge Participants has been jewelry, but also circles, and cycles, a returning, and revisiting. As we ponder these objects from the past, we can also do some soul retrieval work. Each orb I stroke as I run the beads through my fingers and recall moments from the past of doing the same and running these beads through my fingers, I can take a deep inhale, and pull in the memory, while in a pause sending the intention to keep all the good and transmute any negative, then on the exhale send the transmuted fragments to the ethers to be returned like a positive sparkling rain.

I had a great opportunity on my recent visit to Los Angeles, where I lived over 30 years of my life, to do lots of the aforementioned soul retrieval. So clearly a full circle  Mercury Retrograde.

I am certain that any divine goddess in my age range has some hippy beads of her own. Still to this day I cannot pass up new hippy beads to add to my collection, dreaming of the days they adorned my young tanned body symbolizing a statement of the era of peace, love, freedom, and rebellion to the establishment and war. I often feel out of place as it is politically correct to support the troops, but I am still antiwar! I do not like or believe in war or killing. When people say they protect our shores, I think, no they are working to protect “The Man’s” self interest in some financial venture.

So the hippy beads have a multi-leveled meaning still and give me lots to consider.

For details on Linda’s Cosmic Retrograde Challenge visit her post here. Yesterday was Karen Kubicko, and tomorrow is Sue at Dreamwalker’s sanctuary.

Thanks to Linda at litebeing chronicles for creating this fun challenge and allowing me to participate.

Namaste

✿ღ✿ღ.¸¸ღ♫*¨`*•..¸ƸӜƷ ✿ღ ✫❀

Peace & Love

Sindy

32 thoughts on “Hippy Beads~ cosmic retrograde challenge

  1. Ken Sheetz says:

    Far out and right on.

  2. Loved your Post Sindy, and it seems yes a theme is well and truly at work, as we each visit this Cosmic Challenge through our own various mediums..
    The Hippi trail I remember well, I had the big floppy Hat the trendy mini dresses psychedelic in colour.. And was into The Beatles Mania in the UK…
    I agree with you about War, Its futility and agree also that its contrived for the most part to extend to those places which have something worth taking… Regardless of the loss of life or the trauma’s it unleashes …
    I have always remembered Mother Teresa said about an anti war rally.. ”

    Mother Teresa said: I will never attend an anti-war rally; if you have a peace rally, invite me.
    I am learning that if you focus on what you want, (peace) instead of what you don’t want, (war) you will receive it in abundance! Let’s focus, pray, rally, preach Peace, and we will have it! Don’t focus on what we don’t want”.. I always remembered that, Pro Peace….
    And loved the Hippy time with all the Peace symbols, John Lennon and Yoko etc… you brought back many of my own memories 🙂
    Thank you 🙂 xxx

    • I definitely don’t focus on war, I don’t watch the news. What brings it to mind is veterans day, and the like.

      I had some cool mini dresses too and the legs to go with it. lol

      • Yes, I agree, veterans day is a poignant reminder of the futility of war, the thousands who lost and still loose their lives and for what? I hope we remember those whose sacrifice for their countries will never be taken in vain .. As they think they were and are contributing to their countries security.. When both you and I know they are used as nameless pawns in a game others play.. It makes me so cross as we know the truth of our history.

      • You know I certainly appreciate, and acknowledge bravery and valor. In my heart I just don’t believe in war. I as I have discussed on my blog, do believe in reincarnation however, I have been a soldier and warrior so many times. So maybe that is why I am so passive? I don’t know. These same days, late 60’s anyway, hearing about, and seeing all the carnage in Vietnam, and seeing the hippies protest for peace. I remember my older cousin going to Woodstock and me wanting to go so badly but I was, like 12, in 1969. lol

        Insert non-gratuitous Hendrix at Woodstock:

        The same days, but at the tail end or really after the fact, I was in high school from 71 to 75, I got into the Beatles, I would listen intently, but by this time they had already split up, but had lead the way with LSD, transcendental meditation and Ravi Shankar. Things still of value to me, to this very day.

        Insert the Divine Ravi Shankar:
        (I picked this as George Harrison is there and its a younger Ravi.)

        Memories~

      • And in the end
        The love you take
        Is equal to the love you make.
        ✿ღ✿ღ.¸¸ღ♫*¨`*•..¸ƸӜƷ ✿ღ ✫❀

  3. I do not recall having hippie beads, but I still have a turquoise and heshi bead necklace from the 1970s. Like you, I was not quite old enough to participate but my mom said I would have been a hippie and she is right 🙂 I find the soul retrieval idea via the beads fascinating. Did you put them back on and wear them? If not, you may want to try it and see what happens – I call this cosmic dressup!

    love the image, very pretty. Thank you for joining us in the challenge. A very groovy post! I also see the pattern of circles and cycles….

    Namaste,

    lindalitebeing

  4. Erik Andrulis says:

    I have hippie beads; guess that makes me the Divine Goddess. Nice. 🙂 Peace, Ik

  5. Awesome Sindy,
    I can see you wearing the beads… I think they suit you!
    Great memories!
    xoxo
    Karen

  6. shreejacob says:

    Oo..I was way behind on the Hippie movement and I think in the wrong continent too..hehe.
    It was a time of awakening I feel…like a cycle of waking up before it started again…or maybe we are at a time when it’s beginning was that time?
    Loved the post and how it brought back memories AND how you again reclaimed parts of your soul 🙂

  7. I really must be a hippy, I spend a lot of time listening to ragas. lol

  8. treasure your beads! you already know their meaning;
    great story

Leave a Reply

