Sacred Feathers

native_american_eagle-22903Music

Well it will be interesting to see how this feather thing pans out. I bought a new book on symbols at the bookstore, The Element Encyclopedia of Secret Signs and Symbols. So, I decide to read on feathers. Here is an excerpt of the entry.

The symbolism of feathers is closely aligned to that of wings and birds. They stand for ascendance, flight, communication with the spirit realms and the element of air. Shamanistic use of feathers is for all these reasons; the feathers enable the soul to become as light as the feather and transcend the boundaries of gravity, time, and space. Shamans of all nationalities wear feathers as a part of their ritual apparel.

The eagle feather is the most valuable of all feathers. In some parts of the world, this feather, synonymous with all the power of the bird, is considered so sacred that only card-carrying Native American tribal members may own them. Eagle feathers that are found in the wrong hands are the cause of heavy fines.

This is a fact. I googled it. It is called ,The Eagle Feather Law. Wikipedia says,

The eagle feather law provides many exceptions to federal wildlife laws regarding eagles and other migratory birds to enable American Indians to continue their traditional practices.

Under the current language of the eagle feather law, individuals of certifiable American Indian ancestry enrolled in a federally recognized tribe are legally authorized to obtain eagle feathers. Unauthorized persons found with an eagle or its parts in their possession can be fined up to $25,000. The eagle feather law allows for individuals who are adopted members of federally recognized tribes to obtain eagle feathers and eagle feather permits.

☾ °☆  ¸. ● .  ★  ★ ° ☾ ☆ ¸. ¸  ★  :.  . • ○ ° ★

So until I am adopted by a recognized tribe, no feather. The Native American man I spoke to must have thought I was crazy. lol

I am part Cherokee but…I am from the Lost Tribe and We are not Federally Recognized. The Lost Tribe fell out from the Trail of Tears staying in Oklahoma and did not get on the Dawes Roll. I feel certain this symbolism that is so resonant with me has some reason but……

Native American Chant

17 thoughts on “Sacred Feathers

  1. hi.. if feather falls from sky and is found, it is therefore your gift. lets see what the skies bequeath you…
    nite sindy,
    hugs, o and om

  2. I love your thoughts about the birds and feathers… I must be something in the air… yesterday I was watching birds form beautiful patterns in the sky, flying so gracefully, free, no worries and today seagulls playing about on the beach, in the waves and up and down in the sky… no feathers yet… but IAM on the look out too… so what are they telling us now? I can only think of ‘freedom’… keeping the mind free of nonsense… take care dear sindy sue… Barbara

    • Thank you Barbara. What a beautiful sharing. Freedom, flight, ascension, soaring, rising, gliding all good, and as Abe would say High Flying thoughts, imaginings and feeling. I find good and very good we all share this love and observation of things with wings and feathers.

      Namaste~
      Much love
      Sindy

  3. Dewin Nefol says:

    Hi Sindy,

    How are you? I couldn’t resist your post on Symbols 🙂

    The Wiki entry caught my eye. I’m fascinated to know who it is that actually decides that traditional practices can continue whereas others may not, and on what basis does that authority reach that conclusion. Seems a game of political one-upmanship to me?

    I wouldn’t have guessed at your ancestral heritage, although such a keen insight and thirst for knowledge just had to have come from somewhere. I wonder where the Blue dimension to your nature derives from? The Butterfly symbolism is something I understand entirely, but Blue? That has to be something more than a dimensional property, and much closer to being a aspect of infinity? I shall await upon your esteemed reply.

    I have no Eagle feather, but I have three Swan feathers each nearly 19 inches in length. I wonder if there is symbolism attached to those that you might wish to share? 🙂

    I wish that I had a little more time to read more of your material, so I’m having to be selective and take smaller bites from this Apple of thought you’ve created. Don’t be surprised if I pop up elsewhere from time to time…

    Hope all’s well 🙂

    Namaste

    DN – 01/04/14

  4. I think the laws are to protect the Bald Eagles, and allow them to be in the Native American’s hands, I am good with that too. I am just a small percent native, mostly English ancestors. I have a pretty good idea where the blue thing comes from, but it is a blog worthy answer. So I think I will blog it. Although its out there~~~~ If you know what I mean?

    I wrote a fairy tale about a swan here. Let me find it for you.

  5. […] I have a great new blogging friend~Dewin Nefol Dewin has been most kind in their comments to me on my blog. So thank you so much. This post is an answer to a question Dewin ask me. I quote Dewin in their comment from “Sacred Feathers.” […]

  6. Dewin Nefol says:

    …you see, coincidences again, Feathers and Swans this time. There is a link here back to Zeus, but for fear of being misrepresented or misunderstood, I’ll not give it voice.

    Good grief! I’ve just noticed one of the graphics presented on ‘Posts I Like’, by Gurustotram shows an image of a Wizard. It is one of four Wizards in the set…and believe it or not (small world as it is) I have that exact same set on display in my home! And of course, since we are almost Through the Looking Glass here, there is a blue Wizard in the set… 🙂 Crazzzzy. Rabbits and holes and talking toking Caterpillars! And down we go, deeper and deeper and deeper… 🙂 lol

    DN – 01/04/14

  7. Dewin Nefol says:

    Words!…They are the names of my Muses! Serendipity and Synaesthesia 🙂

    What’s her Blog address? I’ll nip off and check it out.

  8. Dewin Nefol says:

    Hi Sindy,

    Thank you for the reply to my question concerning the governance of Eagles. I think it very important to protect declining species in a world that is expanding more quickly and encroaching on the natural habitats of God’s creatures. It is quite obviously becoming a huge issue in several parts of the world, and that is of very real concern. God may have granted us dominion over the Earth but that does not legitimise killing.

    Strangely, before I noticed the Wizard on your site I posted on Julianne Victoria’s…seeking more guidance on Empathic Protection! My head is spinning with all this interweaving. Maybe it’s too much Blue, maybe it’s the lack of sleep, and maybe it’s just mischief. But either way it’s intriguing wouldn’t you say? 🙂

    Blue post reply done. And an excellent post Blue was too. I’m sure there’s more to talk about.

    Catch up soon.

    Namaste

    DN – 01/04/14

Leave a Reply

