The Secret Garden

 

Secretthe-secret-gardenreturn-to-the-secret-garden-liz-evensen

 Care to join me in The Secret Garden?

The movie has long been a favorite of mine and I have one last literary critic to do for end of semester. I have decided to do a ecocriticism of The Secret Garden, by Frances Hodgson Burnett. I have so enjoyed reading it yesterday and today. Join me in the Secret Garden.

“How funny!” said Mary. “That’s really just what it
feels like. And if all the flowers and leaves and green
things and birds and wild creatures danced past at once,
what a crowd it would be! I’m sure they’d dance and sing
and flute and that would be the wafts of music.”

The Secret Garden

pdf

Movie Soundtrack

Movie

25 thoughts on “The Secret Garden

  1. litebeing says:

    Don’t know this one, but the premise is tres cool! Loving school vicariously through you. Soon you will be on break 😉

    Awesome imagery, per usual…

    love,
    Lindalite

  2. I read this book when I was a girl! Wonderful! 🙂

  3. The Secret Garden was a Classic I read in school.. 🙂 Thank you for sharing.. It brought back fond memories xx

  4. The tv series in England so many years ago, following the book I read at school, meant so much to me, gave me hope as a rebel teenager… and remains part of me today. Bring on the magic… and adventure… Barbara… Is your christmas tree up yet?

  5. This is such a wonderful story, and metaphor too. You’ve chosen wonderful images to evoke it, too!

  6. Reblogged this on Sindy's Saturday Satsang and commented:

    In honor of my Ms. Mary at
    “Walking My Path”

    https://marybmaulsby.wordpress.com/

  7. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Thank you Sindy!!! That is so sweet. I have always loved this story. I read it as a girl, saw the movie also as a girl, and funny…but I read it again this past year!!!

  8. Hi Sindy,
    As with the others, I also read this story as a little girl and loved it! It brings back fond memories of staying home with a cold from school and reading the book while entering the magical space inside it.
    Very much Looking forward to break!
    Aloha, Ka

  9. […] and New Mexico, where Ms. Mary resides. I like to call her Ms. Mary, as it makes me thing of The Secret Garden. So for me, “March Wind” went to the bin. That wind reminded me of the wind as spoke of […]

Leave a Reply

