Let’s Talk Ovid

EchoNarcissusWaterhouseEchoNarcissusWaterhouseEchoNarcissusWaterhouse

 White Teeth Teens

So…… It’s mass essay writing time folks, and I have gathered here, as my blog friends some of the brightest, and well read minds. That’s right, you guys. (Insert big cheesy grin) No, but really I would love some feedback. I am using my ENH 251, Mythology class as an Honors class and I selected to do my Honors essay on Ovid’s, Metamorphoses. There are just so many directions one could go on this. So. . .thoughts?

The Implications on Psychology, Influence on Popular Culture, Feminist, Historical??? Any ideas, any at all?

I haven’t even finished it but just throwing it out there. He is moving onto Dante next week, so… but I am going to put my focus here, although I need Inferno too. lol Then yes… there are more essays. It’s like Essay Season.

Narcissus

   Fool, why try to catch a fleeting image, in vain? What you search for is nowhere: turning away, what you love is lost! What you perceive is the shadow of reflected form: nothing of you is in it. It comes and stays with you, and leaves with you, if you can leave! …………………………………..

He spoke, and returned madly to the same reflection, and his tears stirred the water, and the image became obscured in the rippling pool. As he saw it vanishing, he cried out ‘ Where do you fly to?  Stay, cruel one, do not abandon one who loves you! I am allowed to gaze at what I cannot touch, and so provide food for my miserable passion!’ While he weeps, he tears at the top of his clothes: then strikes his naked chest with hands of marble. His chest flushes red when they strike it, as apples are often pale in part, part red, or as grapes in their different bunches are stained with purple when they are not yet ripe.

Book 3, Ovid’s, Metamorphoses

All is well

~Namaste~

Love yall

“Echo and Narcissus”

John William Waterhouse

Oh here is the link to my Academia.edu page.

20 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Ovid

  1. Reblogged this on Writing Works in Progress and commented:

    Hey writers, I could use your feedback.

  2. Maybe something like the psychological implications of Echo (something that comes back) and Narcisssus obsessed with his reflection (something that comes back). Is it just this story or the whole book you have to write on?

    • Whoa good stuff Julianne. I can write on anything I want in the entire book, anyway I want. Lots of choices. I just thought that by getting some good input, like you just gave me, while I finish reading it will help me have broader views. So I love that thought you shared, and if anything else comes to mind, please share. I will be offering bits and pieces here and listening to bright minds like yours. ❤ 😀

  3. litebeing says:

    hey Sindy, I cannot offer feedback as I have not read these. But there are so many WP family members like Julie, etc that will be very valuable.

    PS I excitedly clinked on your academia page to only find the link is broken, Thought you would want to know.

    good luck.
    Linda

  4. Hi Sindy,

    We hope the writing is going well.
    P.S. Odie says don’t waste any time looking in the mirror at your beautiful reflection. Let your writing show how wonderful you are inside too. no dilly dally silly sally. 🙂

    Hugs,
    O and om.

  5. I am going to have to come back to read your post later SIndy.. seems the page is not loading and I can barely read your writing, yet the reply sections are easy to read.. I have tried for 10 mins now loading several times. while it keeps saying processing request.. 🙂
    Love and Hugs your way for a lovely weekend.. Sue xxxx

  6. Yehhh…. success, everything has come into focus.. this whole panel was black before except the comment boxes..
    Ok now to read

    Sounds like you are going to be busy.. Now for settle in time as I take a look back at your posts 🙂 Enjoy your weekend.. 🙂

  7. Aquileana says:

    Narcissus´myth is excellent… I am saving it for a collaboration with a friend… Not sure when but I´ll post on it soon or later.
    By the way the psychological relevance are eloquent, aren’t they?… Particularly if we related them to our society these days…
    Thanks for sharing… A great post dear Sindy!!! Aquileana 😀

Leave a Reply

