She Walks In Beauty

lizard goddessShe Walks In Beauty

(listen here)

Hey everybody! Fun full moon, right? I felt this one, turning me into a monster, well Ms. Cranky Pants anyways. This 8 week condensed British Literature class is, and isn’t to my liking. I did manifest this situation, so never mind, I won’t whine.  I just really love this era of literature, and an online course doesn’t have the same impact, or benefit that classroom discussion does.  With that said, I had to just blow by “The Satanic Poets,” Blake, Shelley, Byron. I spent about eight hours, not nearly the level I want to go. I had no idea they were classified that way. omg my mom would take that so literally. lol In all my reading I did not get a clear answer, was it Lord Byron’s hero, that merited the name, or did it have to do with Blake, and Milton’s, “Paradise Lost”? I do know they questioned, and that’s awesome, but that is a harsh moniker. Don’t you think? Dang that crazy Lord Byron is still enigmatic. True embodiment of “The Trickster,” his own Byronic Hero. A list of mischievous characters and actors faces come to mind. The type of character desired by both men, and women, the bad boy, the rascal, the scoundrel. The sly grin from Gary Cooper before he jumps on his horse and rides away, “Frankly I don’t give a damn, my dear.” lol or whatever Rhett Butler says to Scarlet O’Hara. My imagination runs absolutely wild when I read about these guys. An exciting time in thinking with the German Philosophers, like Immanuel Kant, and there was the French Revolution. So much good literature packed in here, but honestly I am more intrigued with the writers. I do love this poem by Lord Byron.

 

She Walks in Beauty

By

Lord George Gordon Byron

~

She walks in beauty, like the night

   Of cloudless climes and starry skies;

And all that’s best of dark and bright

   Meet in her aspect and her eyes;

Thus mellowed to that tender light

   Which heaven to gaudy day denies.

One shade the more, one ray the less,

   Had half impaired the nameless grace

Which waves in every raven tress,

   Or softly lightens o’er her face;

Where thoughts serenely sweet express,

   How pure, how dear their dwelling-place.

And on that cheek, and o’er that brow,

   So soft, so calm, yet eloquent,

The smiles that win, the tints that glow,

   But tell of days in goodness spent,

A mind at peace with all below,

   A heart whose love is innocent!

 

20 thoughts on “She Walks In Beauty

  1. Mmm, Byron. And such a lovely image, with those vibrant colors and spirals. Thank you.

  2. litebeing says:

    A classic poem, indeed. I also prefer classes that are in person. I am worried no one will ever want to interact in person anymore.

    • Oh yes all my other lit classes have been on campus, this one was supposed to be, but it got cancelled due to lack of enrollment, and I had to take it at another college. I needed it to graduate AA in my MAPP program.

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Yeah, the class discussion is what makes a class like that really rich. Love your image. I’m glad you will at least have this class done, even though you had to get it somewhere else.

  4. I’ve only got into poetry recently I’m enjoy Neruda mostly but I loved this one from Blake, thank you for bringing it to my attention x

  5. That image is a poem unto itself. Stunning.

Leave a Reply

