Contemplations

poppy_fairy2

Well now that was quick, but not painless. I just completed the online, eight week, instead of sixteen week, Survey of British Literature after 1800. Talk about self-study. Talk about fast paced. Oh brother, but I knew I could do it, and it is done. I certainly will spend more time with this literature. I love most all of it. As well as the Romantic, and Transcendentalist in America, and those associated; Poe, Hawthorne, and Melville too. My head is swimming with it all. Concurrently been in the application process for ASU, and all going swimmingly, all transcripts are in, and I hit a snag, after 3 years, and 3 months, apparently to them, I am a non-resident. UGH! Don’t even ask but I have to appeal it. Just send me good mojo please.

So I want to pick a parting poem in honorarium, and celebration., but what shall it be? I shared something by most all studied but William Wordsworth, he deserves a spot. One of the so called “Lucy Poems.”

She Dwelt among the Untrodden Ways

William Wordsworth

She dwelt among the untrodden ways
         Beside the springs of Dove,
A Maid whom there were none to praise
         And very few to love:
A violet by a mossy stone
         Half hidden from the eye!
—Fair as a star, when only one
         Is shining in the sky.
She lived unknown, and few could know
         When Lucy ceased to be;
But she is in her grave, and, oh,
         The difference to me!
17 thoughts on “Contemplations

  1. litebeing says:

    Here’s some application mojo, you are in! Congrats with your course. I enjoyed this poem, succinct yet powerful

    Namaste,
    Linda

  2. Congrats dear Sindy upon your course.. 🙂 and sending you Lots of Thoughts your way.. And love Wordworth.. beautiful poem choice.
    Have a wonderful weekend..
    Sue

  3. Enjoy sweet Sue ❤ Chow!

  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Congratulations on finishing the intensive course!! Sending good juju for you as resident easily accepted into ASU, and loving your classes there. ❤

  5. Amy Campion says:

    “A violet by a mossy stone
    Half hidden from the eye!
    —Fair as a star, when only one
    Is shining in the sky.”
    This was the quote I memorised for my English Lit exam! It expressed so much in such a few short lines – the attention to detail, the reverence for nature, the rhyming style, the beauty of a simple similie, and so very much more. I carry this sentiment now with me always, and so often notice small flowers, perhaps growing from cracks in the footpath, or beside a parking lot, and the beauty always transfixes me. All thanks to the inimitable and visionary Wordsworth. May your mojo too grow like flowers that know nothing of minor obstacles like concrete and paving xx
    (p.s. as much as I loved the Romantics, the rebel in me could never simply study where I was told, and I managed to convince my teacher to write my final essay on Blake instead, as a one who influenced the Romantics so profoundly. Done the rabbit hole we go!) 🙂

    • I loved Blake too, so much good literature this round. I finished the class and still read on. ❤ I didn't realize you were an English major but I probably just forgot. Thanks for sharing your vast knowledge with me Amy, which I hope continues as I endeavor to complete my degree. I can sure use your insight! ❤

  6. Amy Campion says:

    It is my pleasure dear friend, always wonderful to share with someone who derives such joy from words and ideas! I am so inspired by your dedication and hard work, I am sure you will do amazingly x

Leave a Reply

