Magic Is

howard20david20johnson_zps5dkwwgrb

Magic is. . .

For one…. This amazing painting that graces the back side of my Fairy Tarot deck. She just looks like I want a fairy to look. It has sure been a long haul with school. I have forever homework with umpteen essays, books to read, articles to read, projects and presentations to do. A normal free day for me is 12 or more hours of work. Wow, I had no idea. The good news is that I am doing it.

I have a rather scholarly Shakespeare professor who I really enjoy listening to and learning from. However I took my rough draft for my first paper, that I had worked on for eighteen hours, and he hated it. I was gobsmacked and not in a good way. lol Thankfully I also have great non-corporeal professors who advise me and keep me straight. The scene in his office would be great in a film, at least from my perspective. So I shift gears, rearrange my schedule so I can get caught up yesterday. Reading The Age of Opportunity, by Dr. Steinberg, on the adolescent brain and development is just mind blowing. I am reading a chapter on “The Importance of Self Regulation,” and determination. He says “Tenacity wins over talent.” He goes on to say that in his profession at least 80% of his essays, or grant proposals are refused. Hmm. . . “I See” I say to myself, as I read further “You have to . . . review, revise, review, and revise again.” A different class than Shakespeare but what a timely bit of reading for me. My angel guide says, “You skip steps” I do. I try to write a perfect paper, all correct in formatting and structure the first time. I just learned that having your work critiqued and edited is part of the process. I have also learned there is something to be said to writing with pen and paper old school first. So much to learn.

Now on the lighter side, I LOVE Young Adult Literature, my professor is just an angel herself, and she gives us such good literature, and academic articles, and essays to read. I love it, and her. She is my new favorite professor. Don’t tell her though, okay? I am reading The House on Mango Street, and next up, The Red Umbrella. I think this teaching thing may just be my niche, that or writing. An essay we just read was on Contemporary Memoirs, it had so many inspirational ideas for teaching this genre of YA literature. I linked, The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros.

Lots of love everybody.

_Namaste~

Happy Day of Peace

❤

Art by

Howard David Johnson

21 thoughts on “Magic Is

  1. yogaleigh says:

    It’s fun to “hear” you’re so excited about school!

  2. I love the fairy picture – it’s just so magical 🙂
    Glad to hear that things are going well with school. It sounds like an exciting time for you 🙂
    Wishing you the Brightest of Blessings!

  3. litebeing says:

    I am enjoying hearing about your progress. College is tough, but can be exhilarating. Wait till you get to graduate school, lol! Love the fairy pic too 😉

  4. Magic is so living your dream life… with all the light and dark tones… so glad for you, keep reading the great classics and may peace be in step you make x much love barbara x

  5. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Hey Sindy,
    This is so exciting to me. Everything you said about all your teachers. I so see you teaching writing to young adults. Turning young people on to writing. They will be saying the same thing about you as you are about your new favorite professor. I don’t know how old that is. I’m thinking maybe 7th – 9th grade. I loved my teachers in 5th grade too. I think I got turned onto writing by my 8th or 9th grade English teacher..What fun! Sounds like a wonderful. as well as challenging semester!! And, of course, I could see you as a writer just as well.
    And I love that faerie picture!
    I was spending some time with my nephew’s wife, who I adore. We were walking in the woods and some kind of giant wasp flew by. I said, “What was that?!” She said, “I don’t know! A faerie?” Made me love her even more.
    I’m happy for you!
    Love,
    Mary

    • Aww I love that ❤ I was just talking about fairies outside in the garden with my sister ❤ School is super fast paced but fun. I was with the 8th graders today, they are adorable. Shakespear though…lord help me. 😀 ❤

  6. Love the fairy picture Sindy and I could only imagine how you felt after all of those hours of writing to get that response from your professor ..
    Rather you than I back in School and studying.. But it looks as if you are loving it despite everything.. And I know you will succeed through all of your studies..
    Sending Love and I know those Angels are always by your side guiding you through..
    Love and warm thoughts your way..
    Sue ❤

  7. love the pic, exactly what you said she looks how a fairy should look (in my head at least)

  8. Wow, sister, you’re posts are a solid reminder to me that I am not alone. Nope, not with all these angels, you, and that school schedule to keep up on. 🙂 Big blessings to you dear! ❤ I love seeing your shine.

  9. Dewin Nefol says:

    Hey Sindy 🙂

    I always said you were born to shine brightly SS! Sometimes we all need a gentle nudge in the right direction and an injection of academic genius from those who want you to succeed as badly as you want to achieve. I’ve no doubt you will dazzle now that YOU know you can do it 😀

    I can’t wait to catch up with all the news from ASU 🙂

    Pinkies and perkies crossed for success, and sincere best wishes in all ways for always. Keep that essay writing quill sharp and frosty and you’ll be fine.

    Namaste

    DN – 24/11/2016

Leave a Reply

