Guardian

karen-tarlton

Runaway Train

Every day I am blessed to be in the company of angels, especially last Friday. Life is so hectic and my challenges were paramount last week: my break lights were out so I put my car in the shop, it was there for two days and not fixed, my internet was down, and all the final projects are coming due for school. So Friday morning I take the train to school, I had a lovely conversation with a lady I see regularly on my commute, but I still had a preoccupied mind. I reached my stop, I said goodbye to the lady, and I started walking toward the intersection, I had observed another girl on the train because I liked her ASU tee- shirt, it had ASU in gold sequins, and she had a cute polka dot leather purse. She was heading in my direction and I guess I was watching her while in my head, she stopped abruptly and I wondered why, I almost continued and two steps further and I would have been hit by the train. They had even announced the train was approaching. I am telling you I could have reached out and touched it. lol What an eye opener to awareness. Mindfullness could save your life. Not that I was aware, clearly I wasn’t. So my guardian angel Seraphina saved me yet again. Or it could have been any of the angels as I talk with them everyday and ask for their assistance, protection, and guidance. It was my sisters birthday and not my day to die or be mangled, thanks angels!

 

Art

Karen Tarlton

 

33 thoughts on “Guardian

  1. I can’t say I share your believes but it obviously gives you comfort. It was very interesting piece to read, thanks for sharing.

  2. Dewin Nefol says:

    Hey SS šŸ™‚

    Good grief, thank Heavens for your guardian angel!! It would’ve been an absolute tragedy to have lost you Sindy…life would be so many shades darker without your friendship, your company or your brilliant blue flame to inspire and lead the way. You’d be terribly missed by all who know you. And despite the ever present company of angels in your life, I sincerely hope you’ll take better care and keep those eyes wide open and that clever mind of yours engaged in the mindful present! So no more posts on near death experiences at the hands of trains, planes, or automobiles! Please take care SS…you’ve a graduation to attend in 2018, and we all want you alive for that! Okay? šŸ™‚

    Regards the song, which I enjoyed, thank you…I’m sure you are aware the ballad is about depression, about those who runaway from home, from domestic violence, situation, circumstance and abuse, but whose desperate lives are then lost or stolen still further through the hardships, violence and abuse faced whilst living on the streets of America. Wiki, of course, has an entry that makes for an interesting read: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Runaway_Train_(Soul_Asylum_song)

    I sincerely hope the pressure and pace of Uni isn’t driving you to the point of departure from either domesticity or life! šŸ™‚ When times get tough, as they will when neck deep with studies and deadlines, I hope you will always recall the vision of your Graduation that was gifted to you. Success is there for the taking…and I know just had badly you want, and truly deserve that. So it’s best foot forward with eyes wide open and energetic positivity oozing from your every pore. No excuses! šŸ˜€

    On which note, I nearly forgot to mention your last uploaded essay on Academia. I reference the one on Aristotle and Dante, which I thought was especially good. Academic is may be, but I think there is still enough of you shining between your words for it to be a personal response. I’ve always thought this a fascinating dimension in your writing and evidence of your passionate, intellectual love of literature. I imagine your work will continue to get better and better as the months progress. I know you’ve the talent required to fulfil your goal and capitalise on your dream…a first-class degree is well within your capability. Good luck SS šŸ™‚

    Belated birthday best wishes to your sister…I trust she had a magical day in the wonderful company of family and friends. How marvellous it is that you both get to celebrate your 21st birthday again within weeks of each other lol šŸ™‚

    Have an amazing week, and PLEASE take care! šŸ™‚

    Namaste

    DN – 21/11/2016

    • So I have to have a nde to hear from you eh šŸ˜‰ Thank you for your caring friend. Me and sis had great 21sth birthdays šŸ˜€

      • Dewin Nefol says:

        Hey Sindy šŸ™‚

        Aww, that’s a little harsh, don’t you think? šŸ˜¦ You know as well as I that you always have a friend on the other side of the great puddle who has your best interests at heart…he may not frequent your Blog site, or FB as often as he would like, but I am certain he does his best to try and stay in touch whenever he can. On which note, there’s a message waiting for you on FB šŸ™‚ I recall he even gifted you a picture titled Blue, so that you’d have company when he couldn’t be around in person šŸ™‚ I am sure he genuinely cares about you and your friendship and as such was concerned regarding this particular post.

        I’ve every hope the very near future will offer opportunity and time to chat and catch up. Life is genuinely busy for both thee and me at this time and I think we are each looking forward to breaking our stride during the Christmas recess and pausing to take a deep breath before 2017 knocks on the door. We’ll have chance to chatter further then…it wouldn’t be Christmas without enjoying the company of good friends now would it? šŸ™‚

        In the meantime, I’ll try as best I can to make time to say ‘hello’ more often…if for no other reason than to make sure you are safe and still in one piece! šŸ˜€ Please take care.

        Happy to hear Birthday celebrations brought youthful smiles lol šŸ˜€

        Have a wonderful day SS and a magnificent week šŸ™‚

        Namaste

        DN – 21/11/2016

      • I am messing with you. It was a tongue in cheek poke at your absence. This is the only way we can chat and sometimes I need to chat with you and you are not around. It’s not like I can call you up. šŸ˜¦
        Okay off to Shakespeare and the train. lol

  3. fugefly says:

    Very nice post Sindy. Glad you are still with us. It’s a nice reminder for all of us. Thank you

  4. Dewin Nefol says:

    I know that feeling well SS šŸ˜¦ Perhaps with a little planning we can work something out, maybe create a little space somewhere in-between our obligations and responsibilities that would be mutually convenient? Use of the telephone may not be a viable option (at the moment), but there are other ways to chat, right? I’m sure we could come to an agreement that would not drastically compromise or upset the status quo šŸ™‚ So put your thinking cap on, and let me when would suit you best, and i’ll work around that. Cool? šŸ™‚

    Enjoy ye olde English class with wordy Will, and please take care on that train! šŸ˜€

    Namaste

    DN – 21/11/2016

  5. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Well, I’m thanking that angel right now!
    Go look at the faerie I just put up. She just showed up on my camera.
    So glad you are alive. Happy Thanksgiving!

  6. Beautiful painting – the colours are amazing. I’ve not heard Runaway Train in ages. Great song.
    And, most importantly I’m so very thankful you’re still with us.
    Wishing you the most of brightest blessings šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

